Driving While Intoxicated (Drugs and/or Alcohol)
There are many designations for impaired driving charges. DWI, DUI, DWAI, and DWAI-Drugs or DWAI A/D carry varying degrees of severity and are assigned largely due to the semantics of the case. New York does not acknowledge DUI as terminology, instead opting to distinct alike the various types of offenses mostly into DWI and DWAI.
DWIA DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) charge is applied when the driver is operating a vehicle above a .08% BAC (blood alcohol content). This is considered to be within the levels of intoxication. DWI can also apply to commercial drivers with a .04%BAC and those under the age of 21 with a .02%BAC. If you are charged with a DWI, you are at the risk of serious jail time or probationary periods with severe monetary penalties.
DWAIA DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired) is a slightly more complicated charge. The typical DWAI refers to levels of impairment between .05%BAC and .07%BAC. However, DWAIs can also be given in the form of a DUI Drug charge wherein the driver is caught in any form of legal, illegal, or prescription drug that impairs their driving ability. A DWAI-A/D charge is the combination of both listed charges at the same time. These charges will vary in consequences depending on the severity, but all have the possibility of resulting in jail time or fines. If you have received any form of unjust driving impairment charge or feel that you are being treated unfairly in your case, contact Flowers Law Group for legal representation. Our lawyers will work with you to discern the possibility of lessening or voiding your charge so you can get back to your life with ease.
Can You Deny A Sobriety Test?If you have recently been pulled over and received a DUI or DWI, you may be able to challenge this sentance in a court of law. Contact our DWI Lawyer in Central Islip, Larry Flowers, for more information. A field sobriety test is when a police officer needs to determine if a driver is under the influence of alcohol. There are three types of tests.
- Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus: This is when the jerking of an intoxicated person’s eye becomes more exaggerated and occurs at lesser angles
- Walk and Turn Test: The officer will ask the driver to take nine heel-to-toe steps forward, turn the other direction, and repeat. If the driver exhibits any of the indicators, there is a 68% change their BAC is dangerous for driving.
- One Leg Stand Test: The officer will ask you to stand on one leg for thirty seconds.
How Can A DWI Lawyer in Central Islip Help?If charged with a DWI, you can face a hefty fine, suspension of your license, and even possible jail time. At Flowers Law Group, a visit to a DWI lawyer in Central Islip can give you the representation you deserve. Contact us today to learn more about how Larry Flowers can help.
What Do I Do If I’ve Been Caught Drunk Driving?Driving while intoxicated is a serious crime in the state of New York. If you are caught driving while intoxicated, the state of New York is able to suspend your license, charge you expensive fines, and potentially put you in jail. It is very important to seek legal help if you are charged with a DWI. Flowers Law Group and our DWI lawyer in Suffolk County, whether it’s Central Islip, Huntington, or Riverhead, can help you avoid some of the serious punishments. Police or other law enforcement can charge you with a DWI depending on your blood-alcohol content (BAC). In New York, you can be charged with a DWI if your BAC is:
- .08% and your 21 or older
- .04% if you’re driving a commercial vehicle
- .02% if you are under 21 years old.
- Your age
- Your driver’s license, depending on whether you have a regular or commercial drivers license
- Whether you submitted to a chemical test.